This Dark Angel saved my skin.

Image

LUSH Dark Angels Cleanser

What LUSH says about Dark Angels:

“Dark Angels is the nemesis of all blemishes, breakouts and blocked pores. Our soft black scrub was conceived when we combined the exfoliating power of Angels on Bare Skin and the sebum balancing abilities of Coal Face. The result? A velvety cleanser, sprinkled with black sugar and powdered charcoal to gently exfoliate and cleanse away excess oils. We add antimicrobial rhassoul mud and vitamin-rich cold pressed organic avocado oil to soften, moisturize and nourish skin, as well as sandalwood and rosewood oils to soothe.”

Before I got this, I was dealing with a lot of clogged pores and blackheads that I could never seem to get rid of, no matter how much I exfoliated or cleansed my skin. That all changed when this black beauty came into my life. Suddenly, my skin took on a glow that I hadn’t had before and my pores were significantly cleaner than ever before. This Dark Angel definitely became my skins guardian angel. 

Image

Doesn’t it just look like clogged pores worst nightmare?

I was originally a little worried when I bought this that it would be too harsh for my skin. I still think that this isn’t suited for all skin types because it can be really rough if you overuse it or rub too hard. So if you have super sensitive skin , I would skip this or just tread very, very lightly. It also does have a noticeable Sandalwood scent to it, which I love but if you are also not a fan of scents, get a sample first. When I used it for the first time, I found that my skin really loved it! I have a huge issue with getting milia on my face and this has dramatically reduced the chance of coming back. I use this every other night alternating with my LUSH Aqua Marina Cleanser and my skin has never been happier. As with the other LUSH products, if you’re not familiar with how they work it could be a bit tricky to get the hang of. Don’t worry, I’ll break down how to use this one for you as well.

1. Get rid of the makeup on your face first. I use LUSH Ultrabland for this

2. Rinse your face with warm water (not hot) to ready your skin

3. Grab a large pea sized amount of Dark Angels and lightly drip some water on the piece you just took out until it forms a runny paste

4. Rub the paste gently in circular motions across your entire face. When I say gently, I mean gently. It doesn’t take much to get a deep exfoliation.

5. Rinse with warm water. Still be gentle when taking it off, often this is where I get the most exfoliation. Be diligent about making sure it’s not under your jaw or around your hairline, sometimes it likes to be sneaky and stay there!

The only issue I’ve ever had with this cleanser is that it can sometimes leave behind a dark streak if I’m not careful. Usually when that happens I realized I forgot to wipe off a little section of Ultrabland. Just a little extra woman power and water will make it come off usually. My sister had this happen to her also when she was using hers after it expired (after 3 months usually) and it was even harder than usual to take off. My guess is that it’s the Rassoul Mud in it.

If you’re looking for a cleanser to help clear your clogged pores, exfoliate your skin and remove impurities, you’ve found it. This will always be in my skincare regimen, my skin loves it and I love how my skin looks after using it. Hopefully this Dark Angel can be your saving grace too!

Where to buy: LUSH online and in stores for $12.95 – $28.95

Love,

Meg

16 thoughts on “This Dark Angel saved my skin.

    • They definitely do! I fact, I’m pretty sure LUSH has more stores in the UK than they do here in the US. They originated there! :] If you’ve never been in a store, you’re in for a treat, it’s so much fun! I just want to buy everything, haha! Let me know what you think if you do get it or even if you get something else!

      • This stuff seriously rocks! I have never felt my face so smooth or clean from one use! Great recommendation Meg!

      • Whoooooo!!! I am so excited that you love it Mo! That made my whole day! :] You’re going to be really tempted to use it every night since it makes your face feel so good, but try to use it only every other night! Otherwise your face might get too dry, especially since you’re in Michigan. Did you get anything else from LUSH?

  1. I’m going to grab this next time in Toronto – I didn’t know they had anything like this! I usually grab a few shower bombs, face masks and solid perfumes – I guess I’ve been totally ignorant of the skin care they offer, ahaha!

    • Haha! I’m kind of the exact opposite of you! I’ve tried their facemasks but not any of their bathbombs! Their face masks are so awesome, Oatifix is the one I modeled my recipe after since we don’t have one where I live. Whenever I go to Seattle, I always stock up on everything :] Have the SA’s rub the Dark Angels on your hand and then put some Vanishing Cream on after. It’s the best combination ever. I’ll be reviewing that moisturizer soon!

      • Oh – I work for a spa that sells their own skin care and it’s friggin’ amazing – so I try other things out here and there but I typically stick with the products sold within my salon, ahaha. I need to freshen things up!

  2. Pingback: Why yes, my cleanser is green. | Painted Lady

  3. just bought this, I think it is bringing the pimples deep below to surface..breaking out a little but gonna stick with it a little longer. I also bought the the “Eau Roma” toner..but am wondering if i should have gotten the tea tree one- I have oily & acne prone skin

    • My sister bought the Eau Roma toner and I loved it, as well as she. I also bought the tea tree and it worked really nicely as well! They keep for long too :) I don’t think you can go wrong with either of them. Yeah, see how it works for you skin! I remember that happening with me too. I hope your skin enjoys it and reacts well with it! It’s truly an amazing product. Let me know if you have any questions!

Show some love!

