The Houdini of all moisturizers.

Image

LUSH Vanishing Cream Moisturizer

What LUSH says: “We’re about to tell you something that might sound contradictory. If you have oily skin, you need to moisturize your face! It all comes down to skin care basics; if your face is oily, it’s compensating for something. Set things right with Vanishing Cream. Our lightest blend, Vanishing Cream contains balancing lavender absolute, pore-tightening witch hazel (which helps brilliantly with eliminating blemishes) and grape seed oil to soften. Use daily to balance oil production for even, clear skin.”

I’ve always hated moisturizers that cling to your skin and never seem to really sink in. My face absolutely abhors them and immediately lets me know by breaking out. I’ve tried countless moisturizers over my acne years, and my face has never been happier with a moisturizer than with this one. I’m pretty sure it’s a magician because it does a vanishing act every time I use it, and all it leaves behind in its wake is a face as soft as silk. 

Image

It looks heavy but feels light as air

The first time I used this moisturizer, it was right after I had tried out all of my new LUSH products, and let me tell you, I was ecstatic. I could not stop touching my face! My face felt balanced, looked supple, and so, so smooth! There was no greasy look in site! It’s perfect to wear even under makeup because your skin just drinks it up and it never makes your makeup slide off your face like other moisturizers do. I use it mainly at night since I use my Clarins Beauty Flash Balm and sunscreen during the day, and even though it isn’t the heaviest moisturizer, my face hardly ever feels dry when I wake up in the morning. Even though this moisturizer is the lightest formula that LUSH sells, it still moisturizes dry, sensitive skin. Although, if you do suffer from terribly dry skin, this is not the moisturizer for you, it’s simply not made to handle that. LUSH has amazing other moisturizers for you to take a look at. However, if you are acne prone, Vanishing Cream is the only one in the entire lineup that can help you because the rest have cocoa butter which can severely clog your pores. I used Enzymion during the day all summer long thinking it would be perfect since it absorbs oil and I had no idea that it was contributing to the horrible cysts I was getting (along with my makeup I later found out). My sister had a similar reaction to Celestial when she used it. Once I stopped and just used Vanishing Cream, my face immediately calmed down and I saw no more cysts. I’m on my third tub of this and I don’t see myself getting another moisturizer anytime soon.

If you have oily, acne prone or sensitive skin and have been struggling to find a moisturizer that won’t aggravate any of it, head into LUSH and have a look at this. I hope you’ll love it as much as I do!

Where to buy: LUSH online and in stores for $42.95

Ingredients from LUSHusa.com:

Linseed Infusion (Linum usitatissimum) , Water (Aqua) , Rose Water (Rosa centifolia) , Lavender Honey Water (Lavandula augustifolia) , Organic Grapeseed Oil (Vitis vinifera) , Honey (Mel)Stearic Acid , Organic Jojoba Oil (Simmondsia chinensis) ,Witch Hazel Extract (Hamamelis virginiana) , Fair Trade Organic Shea Butter (Butyrospermum Parkii) , Cetearyl Alcohol ,Triethanolamine , Camella Oil (Camella japonita) , Lavender Oil (Lavandula augustifolia) , Neroli Oil (Citrus amara) , Geranium Oil (Pelargonium graveolens) , Glycerine , Tincture of Benzoin (Styrax benzoin) , *Geraniol , *Limonene , *Linalool , Perfume ,Methylparaben , Propylparaben

Love,

Meg

14 thoughts on “The Houdini of all moisturizers.

  1. I tried this once but my skin felt quite tight and dry afterwards, it was almost like it was not providing enough moisture. May give it another go after reading your review. :-)

    • How dry is your skin? I’m combination and my skin can sometimes be a little dry on my cheeks, but when I use this it moisturizes just enough :] Your skin could be drier than mine though.

      • I have combi skin too but this winter the dryness has been causing havoc! Been experiencing really dry and tight skin which is not only uncomfortable but also quite annoying so I have been keeping an eye out for anything that could help restore the moisture. :-)

      • Darn! That’s the worst! I’ve had the same experience on really harsh days. I ended up getting a humidifier just to help with it and I also put some hyaluronic acid on my skin on nights where it needs an extra moisture boost, and that combination seems to do the trick! Can your skin handle oils? That might be another alternative.

      • I very rarely use them, and when I do it’s only if I get a dry patch that won’t go away. Most oils break me out but I’ve found a few that never have. Sibu Seabuckthorn oil is one of my favorites, it helps immediately and hasn’t caused me breakouts. It’s only on rare occasions that I use it though, mostly this helps me get by on normal days. If you really don’t want to check out any oils at all, definitely check out hyaluronic acid! I’ll be doing a DIY post soon on how to make your own and not spend too much on it, it’s very easy. In the mean time, Sephora has great samples of hyaluronic acid, you can see if it works for your skin. It’s completely water based, and holds it’s weight 1000x in water. It’s pretty cool stuff! :] I hope that helped!

  2. Pingback: Why yes, my cleanser is green. | Painted Lady

Show some love!

