Face Mask Friday! Spirulina is one heck of a powerhouse!

Image

Ingredients you will need

Hey everyone! Before I even begin, I’m going to warn those of you with sensitive noses to tread very carefully with this mask, because the smell is very strong and not very pleasant. However, if you can stick it out, I promise your skin will positively glow.

Image

I think the mask was camera shy, it didn’t want to take a good picture!

Spirulina has many benefits for your skin and your body. It’s even been deemed as the most nutritionally complete of all supplements, and has many vitamins and nutrients. It’s high in protein, iron, Vitamin A, K and B. When topically applied, it helps remove toxins, increase cell turnover and it aids in healing as well. This little gem also helps with acne by preventing the bacteria overgrowth that causes it. So all in all, this is one amazing mask. Like I mentioned before, the only drawback is that it smells. You can’t smell it after you put on your face, but while you are applying it, it’s very, very strong. So be wary.

Ingredients list:

Spirulina Powder

Organic Lemon Juice

Organic Aloe Vera

Directions

1. Get a container and empty about 4 tbsp of spirulina powder into it

2. Add about 2 tbsp of the organic lemon juice

3. Add 2 tbsp of the organic aloe vera

4. Mix it all together.

5. Apply to cleansed skin in patting motions. It’s not going to be completely even, that’s okay. Leave on for 10-20 minutes

6. Rinse off with warm water, and follow with your moisturizer

 You will notice that the mixture is very runny, don’t worry, it’s supposed to be. If you’re sensitive to lemon, you can omit it and add honey instead. My skin absolutely adores this mask, and is always glowing after I remove it. My redness is gone, and my acne marks look less pronounced. Over time since I’ve been incorporating spirulina into my diet as well as in my face masks, my acne has significantly reduced! Especially those hard cysts I used to get. If you’re suffering from acne or just need to detox your skin, give this a go! Honestly, try to bear the smell if you can, it’s worth it.

Image

Smile! It helps the mask smell better! Not really, but I tell myself that!

Let me know if any of you try this mask! I’d love to hear some feedback, especially what you thought of the smell and how it made your skin look after! I hope you’re having a lovely Friday night!

Love.

Meg

11 thoughts on “Face Mask Friday! Spirulina is one heck of a powerhouse!

    • You don’t necessarily have to include the aloe, you can use water if you want. It just makes it less drying, and gives it more slip. It’s not too hard to find though, any health food store should carry it! I’ve been adding lemon into my face masks for three weeks and it’s really helping to lighten up my spots! Let me know if you try the mask, I’d love to know what you think!

  1. My sister uses squeezed lemon dipped in milk for her blemishes and dark elbows and underarms. It works wonder. I’ll tell her this great mask tip. Unfortunately My eczema and super sensitive and dry skin doesn’t respond well to lemon juice :(

    • Wow! I’ve never heard of that trick before. I need to look into that! Thank you, I love learning beauty tricks from around the world! :] Darn! I’m sorry! Eczema is no fun. I’ll try to post a moisturizing face mask soon for you, without lemon! :]

  2. Pingback: Face Mask Friday–Super Spirulina! | Painted Lady

    • I actually have never ordered Spirulina online, you can usually find them at the Co-op or any health food store. I have heard that Vitamin Shoppe has reliable service online and Vita Cost does too, but I have never purchased from their site. I hope this helps! :D Let me know if I can help you anymore!

  3. I bought the stuff just a few days ago. I have the powered form of Spirulina. I can barely stomach it with water (drinking it) tried it tonight with juice. (not bad) but I don’t like the idea of mixing it with juice just because of the insane amount of sugar in juice. I do want to try the mask though.

    • I know what you mean about the juice, it kind of seems to defeat the purpose a little bit with all of that sugar! Maybe you could try it with a low sugar organic natural juice to make it taste better without too many calories :) You should most definitely try it as a mask, it works wonders and you don’t even have to eat it! Let me know how it goes! :D

Show some love!

