Why yes, my cleanser is green.

Image

LUSH Herbalism Facial Cleanser

What LUSH says: “A powerful decongestant for your pores, Herbalism is best suited to those who have tried everything under the sun to clear up their oily and blemish prone skin. Fear not! Herbalism’s heroic blend of rosemary, nettle and chamomile are here to tame problematic skin. Ground rice bran acts as an effective exfoliant, while kaolin (also known as China clay) reaches deep down into pores to clean out dirt and debris. Use this cleanser in combination with Grease Lightning for balanced, even skin.”

I felt like I needed to switch up my beauty routine recently, and what better time to do that than Spring! I asked my boyfriend to pick me up another container of Dark Angels and instead of getting Aqua Marina again, I asked for Herbalism. I tried Herbalism last summer, and absolutely adored it, so I couldn’t wait to have it again. Nothing has changed, I still love it, and it is still one of my absolute favorite cleansers that LUSH makes. 

Image

Yep! It’s totally green.

This cleanser’s main purpose is to clean out clogged pores and help reduce breakouts. I was suffering from particularly nasty breakouts last summer, mainly because of bad makeup and bad ingredients in my hair care, (little did I know) but this cleanser seemed to really help heal them quicker. It’s not like other cleansers for acne that strip your skin and leave it with absolutely no moisture, instead, this helps take away the grease, tones your skin and leaves it feeling balanced. It’s mildly exfoliating because of the ground rice bran, though not as much as Dark Angels, and the kaolin clay helps it reach deep down in your pores to help pull out whatever gunk is in there. I did find this to be a little irritating at the end of last fall, but I think it was just because it was nearing the end of its expiration date and my skin was severely wind burnt and chapped. I’m happy to report that my skin has no issues with it now!

Here’s how I use it. I take a tiny chunk off of Herbalism, no more than two pea sizes, and then take my other hand to lightly drip three water droplets onto my little chunk of Herbalism. Then, on my slightly damp face, I massage it into my skin in circular motions with both hands for a minute. Lastly, I take my Clarisonic and make sure to really buff it into my skin and then I rinse it off with warm water and follow up with my Vanishing Cream moisturizer.

You definitely need this cleanser along with Dark Angels if you are oily and breakout prone, but even if you suffer from a little oil and minor breakouts, this would still be a great summer cleanser for you. If you are more sensitive skinned, I would stick with Aqua Marina, just because it is more moisturizing. I can’t wait to have clear skin all summer long, and with LUSH in my arsenal, I definitely think I will!

Ingredients from LUSH online: Ground Almonds (Prunus dulcis) , Kaolin , Glycerine ,Chlorophyllin Water (Aqua) , Nettle, Rosemary, Rice Vinegar Extract (Urtica dioica, Rosmarinus officinalis) , Rice Bran (Oryza sativa) , Gardenia Extract (Gardenia jasminoides) , Rose Absolute (Rosa centifolia) , Chamomile Oil (Anthemis nobilis) ,Sage Oil (Salvia sclarea) , Perfume

Where to buy: online at LUSH and in stores for $13.96-$29.95

Love,

Meg

P.S. I know there are a lot of links in this post, but it’s easier for me to reference my other reviews by posting those links so everyone can get a clear view on what I’m comparing this to. If you have any questions about comparisons, please ask away!

8 thoughts on “Why yes, my cleanser is green.

  1. Great post! I’m going to get a sample of this ASAP. I’ve been dealing with breakouts recently and am willing to try anything at this point lol I had a bas reaction to their ocean salt exfoliator so I’m hoping this works for me! Thanks for the heads up

  2. Does it stain carpet? Do dogs like the smell of it? I like the fact that it comes in a container with a lid instead of a plastic bag.

    • I’m sorry, I don’t actually. I’ve heard AmorePacific is an amazing brand though! I’ve been wanting to try out some of their products for the past few months. I just looked it up and it describes it as a “hydrating and purifying facial cleanser.” That right there alone makes me feel like it’s going to be a bit different. Herbalism does purify your pores from gunk and debris, but I wouldn’t necessarily call it moisturizing, so it would lead me to believe the AmorePacific is more for drier skin. It’s also a foam, wheras Herbalism has more of a grainy texture due to exfoliating properties, wheras the AmorePacific is probably meant more for mild cleansing. It sounds like a lovely product, but it all just depends on your skin. Are you more oily or more dry? If you can, I’d grab a sample of both for sure, or if you can’t, read more reviews online and see if you can decide from there. I hope that helps!

      • I’m combination. My skin decides to do different things everyday without my consent lol. I’ve been using the AP cleanser on and off since Dec. Believe it or not, it’s made for blemish-prone, oily, combination, and normal skintypes. The skincare manager in Sephora recommended it to me specifically for my needs. It’s been wonderful and lasts for ages! But I’m always open to trying new things. I have yet to find a LUSH product I want to purchase over and over. Maybe this is it? If you ever want to try AP, purchase the Oil-Free Essentials kit. It’s worth every penny and it’s absolutely impossible not to fall in love with the products.

      • Thank you for the recommendation! It sounds fantastic. I’ll have to look into it :] I’ve been using LUSH skincare for almost a full year now and my skin has never been happier. I’ve wanted to see what else is out there, but it almost scares me to make the change when my skin is looking so good! I’m glad you founds something that works for you!

Show some love!

