What the yuck? Acne causing ingredients may be in your hair care.

Being an aspiring medical esthetician, I have to be aware of ingredients in skincare. I know more than the average person and I am constantly trying to keep building my knowledge. However, I never really thought about what ingredients have been lurking around in my seemingly alright hair care. Let me tell you ladies and gentleman, I am shocked and I may have even discovered why I’m still breaking out along my jawline and hairline even though I’m so meticulous about my skin. Go and grab your products right now and take a look at that list, especially if you are prone to breakouts like I am.

For the past few months, I have been living on a college student budget and maintaining my salon colored red hair with Suave Color protection. I know, I know-totally cheap but I didn’t think it was THAT bad. Don’t tell my stylist, he will murder me. It keeps my color all right, not the best but it does alright for the low price tag. I guess I get what I pay for, because the ingredient list has quite a few of acne causing ingredients. Unfortunately, I have also been washing my makeup brushes with the shampoo as well, and so the ingredients have probably stuck around for a bit even after giving them a thorough washing.

Shampoo

1. Sodium Laureth Sulfate (2nd ingredient) Rating of 3 out of 5 on Comedogenic scale, and 2 out of 5 on Irritation scale

2. Sodium Chloride (3rd ingredient) Rating of 5 out of 5 on Comedogenic scale and 0-3 on Irritation scale

Conditioner

1. Cetearyl Alcohol (2nd ingredient) Rating of 2 out of 5 on Comedogenic scale and 2 out of 5 on Irritation scale

2. Potassium Chloride (9th ingredient) Rating of 5 out of 5 on Comedogenic scale and 0-3 on Irritation scale

There are quite a few other ingredients on the back of the bottles, but I couldn’t find some of the names on the list. I could hardly pronounce them either, so they are really probably not all that good to be putting on my hair in the first place. And to think that while I’m rinsing these out of my hair, I’m probably not even getting all traces of it off of my skin!

These are both going in the trash bin tomorrow and I am running out to my local co-op to see if I can find some shampoo and conditioner that will hold my color and keep me acne free. If you have any suggestions, they would be greatly appreciated! I will link the list at the bottom of my post for you to do your own homework about the ingredients that might be lurking around in your makeup, hair and skincare! It is more of a guideline and everyone has different reactions to certain ingredients, but I do have to say I cut out a foundation I had been using over the summer and a moisturizer due to the acne causing ingredients I found on the list. My acne has been cut down dramatically since doing so. I even thought I was safe using it since it was a Vegan brand! So take a look and do your skin a favor! You never know what kind of nasty stuff you might find.

http://www.zerozits.com/Articles/acnedetect.htm   -Scroll down a little bit to see the list!

Love,

Meg

Show some love!

