How to trick people into thinking you’re awake.

Image

Jane Iredale Eye Highlighter Pencil (White/Pink)

What Jane Iredale says: “A jumbo dual-ended pencil designed to highlight the eye area”

I’ve been looking to get one of these for the longest time. Sometimes the highlight eye shadow in palettes is too stark and too noticeable or shimmery to use on a day to day basis. Some of the shades I was using had too much glitter and would get in my eye when I was using it to highlight my inner corner. Needless to say, I was through with trying. That is, until I stumbled upon this little gem. Although I wouldn’t throw this in your zombie apocalypse bag if you plan on blending in with the zombies, it does too good of a job of making you look alive.

Image

I have always had a soft spot in my heart for Jane Iredale. I’ve used her makeup religiously and am never without her Pure Pressed Base foundation (review coming shortly). Her line is also natural and has never irritated my sensitive skin, so I knew I could trust this pencil to be used on my eyes as well as other areas on my face for highlighting. Both of these shades have a very fine shimmer, but it is in no way a glitter bomb. The shimmer can be more noticeable if you use too much though, so a little goes a long way. The texture is like a very soft gel pencil. It’s not hard or stiff in the least! The White side of the pencil is used to highlight the inner corner of your eyes, wheras the Peachy Pink side is used to highlight your brow bone. But honestly, you could switch it up if you really want to, I do all of the time. The White shade is a bit more pigmented than the Peachy Pink shade, but they can both be built up to in terms of color. You can use it on your dark shadows underneath your eye, but you have to be careful not to pack too much on because you might end up with too much shimmer.

What I usually do is dab the Peachy Pink side (peach neutralizes blue) with my ring finger and then pat it on gently and then use my concealer on top of it. The result is usually pretty nice! It doesn’t crease during the day either which is a great bonus. There is a little bit of fading when you use it on your brow bone and inner corners but I actually like how it fades because it takes some of the more noticeable shimmer away. I have used it on my cheek bones and nose too as an all over highlighter and it looks great when you use it that way as well! It really is the perfect little multi-tasker. The only thing I haven’t tried is using it as an eye shadow, but with how well it performs at it’s other tasks, I can only assume it would work great for that as well! At least as a center of the lid highlight.

Peachy pink shade on left, pearly white on right

Peachy pink shade on left, pearly white on right

I’ve been using this every day since I bought it in November and I’ve barely made a dent in it. You don’t need too much to get a great, well rested look. It’s been my go-to these past few days to not look so dead from catching an awful cold. People actually have told me I look nice even though I feel like a walking zombie. Usually these pencils are $20 and up, but this is only $15.50. It’s a total steal for something that has more than just one use. So what are you waiting for? Go out and grab this, everyone needs this in their makeup bag.

Where to buy: janeiredale.com, and select spa locations for $15.50

One thought on “How to trick people into thinking you’re awake.

  1. Pingback: Getting a little color. | Painted Lady

Show some love!

