It’s time for Face Mask Friday–Rice Enzyme face mask!

I’m just going to throw this out there. I make homemade face masks–almost every night. To others, that might seem excessive, but to me it’s like my whole kitchen is a laboratory! Everyone reading this probably has more ingredients than they realize sitting right in their fridge and cupboards that can make excellent face masks! You don’t need to go out and buy insanely expensive masks, and besides, it’s way more fun to whip up a couple with your friends and watch girly movies while looking like little monsters. 

This mask is one of the easiest you can possibly make and has a multitude of benefits. Rice is used in a variety of skincare and is known for it’s gentle exfoliation benefits and ability to help brighten your skin tone from post acne scarring and dullness. When combined with pure Aloe Vera gel (helps with hydration) and Raw Honey (antibacterial, hydrating), you’ve got yourself a pretty powerful combination. Now here’s what you need to make this mask.

Rice Powder (either blend your own or buy from the store)

Organic Aloe Vera Gel (Preferably from Inner Filet, I use Lakewood Organic)

Raw, Organic Honey (No cheap store bought honey. The darker the better)

1. Depending on how much you want to make, use one to two spoon fulls of rice powder for one application. I put four in mine because I make mine to last a few days.

Image

White Rice Powder

2. Pour the Organic Aloe Vera in. There’s not much of a measurement, you just want to be sure it’s not completely drowning the rice powder. You want to have a runny paste like consistency.

Image

Lakewood Pure Aloe

3. Add in the honey. You don’t want a lot because I’ve found it will glob up if you use too much, but around two pea sizes should be perfect. Then, mix it all together and stir it all up, that’s what it’s all about!

Image

Pure Honey, bought locally

It should look somewhat like this!

Image

The finished product

If you want to be hygienic, then by all means use a spoon or a small spatula to spread the mask onto your hands. Or if you’re like me, just wash your hands and get messy. I usually just pat the mask on, and build up to where my whole face is covered. This is not a mask that’s going to get completely opaque like clay masks, but it’s not a bad thing. Leave on for ten minutes and then gently massage in small circles with warm water to rinse off. After patting your face dry with a towel, immediately apply your skincare after, you want your skin to still be slightly damp to absorb your products better.

And there you have it! Your skin should feel balanced, smooth and look more even. You could use this face mask around two to three times a week, but not more because you don’t want to over exfoliate your face! I promise I’ll have more face masks coming up that you can use every night if your little heart desires. Who knows? Maybe you’ll be like me and make on every night!

Image

Fully applied

Have fun!

Love Meg

4 thoughts on “It’s time for Face Mask Friday–Rice Enzyme face mask!

  1. Meh.ur skin isn’t that nice. I know us have the mask on but you have pimples. I do not and so therefore your advice is poor

    • Hi Kayla, I’m sorry you feel that way. However, I never said that this was a miracle face mask, in fact, I stated that your face should ‘feel balanced, smooth and look more even,” after application. Not that this was going to get rid of acne forever, just help along the way. If you look at some of my more recent face mask posts you may find something more suited to your liking. My acne has been a constant struggle, and what works for me may not work for you. I know that this mask does make a difference for my skin, and if it doesn’t for yours, I urge you to find something to help it, be it here on my blog or someone else’s. I know that through my advice, my blog has helped other people suffering from their acne and other skin ailments. I do a lot of research before I post any face masks and thoroughly test them before I write about it, and only get my information from reliable sources. I know I still have a lot to learn but I feel like I have made a difference for a lot of people.

  2. Hey Painted Lady, don’t listen to the haters. A rice flour face mask is as close to a miracle mask as any face mask is ever going to get. Not only does it brighten and exfoliate, it has loads more benefits. Many quality cosmetic brands know this too and therefore use rice flour/extract in their products. Anyhoo, my go-to mask is a combination of rice flour, oatmeal flour and honey…so soothing healing and hydrating and anti-microbial, I love it. It’s perfect for my senstive skin…and my budget too, he he.

    Keep up the good work! 🙂

    • You are the sweetest IIana! Thank you so much for your kind words, it means a lot to me! I will totally have to try that mask, it sounds absolutely wonderful and so soothing! I have been visiting Chicago this past week and my skin has been taking a beating! It sounds like just what my skin is looking for 🙂 Thank you!

Show some love!

