Anything but bland.

Image

LUSH Ultrabland Cleanser

What LUSH says: A hugely popular cult product, Ultrabland is a thick, rich emulsion of essential oils, honey and beeswax to take off any make up or residue that has built up on your face throughout the day. Unlike most make up removers, Ultrabland leaves your skin feeling soft and nourished, thanks to soothing rosewater and iris flower extract. Suitable for all skin types, Ultrabland is a classic LUSH cleanser coveted by staff and customers alike for itโ€™s effectiveness. Not so bland after all, is it?

The first thing I said when I saw this cleanser was, “Ew! It’s greasy! Who would put that on their skin!?” Yes, I’m very eloquent when I want to be. Unfortunately for me, I had no idea what I was missing! It wasn’t until I got a sample when I was in Seattle for the weekend did I really find out how much I needed this in my life. Is it worth it enough to have a greasy face for a bit? You bet your greasy face it does.

Image

Can you tell I’ve been loving it way too much?

What I love so much about this cleanser is that it really is multi-functional. You can use it to remove makeup, cleanse your skin as normal, and put it on dry and chapped places of your face. I have used it as all three! What I mainly use it for is to remove my makeup though. I do the double cleansing method, where I use this first and then I do a second cleansing using my Clarisonic with my LUSH Aqua Marina after (review coming). It does have a bit of a learning curve to get used to though, but once you master it, I swear your skin will never feel softer or cleaner.

LUSH gives you the lowdown on how to use this, but I’ll save you the time of going to their website and let you know myself.

1. Grab a quarter sized amount and rub on your dry face. Make sure to circle your face evenly to lift your makeup off.

2. You can either use water or toner for this part. I find that toner works a little bit better to break it down but if you don’t have one, water works fine too. Take a cotton ball and soak it in the water or toner and gently use it to remove the cleanser. I use downward strokes for this and get new cotton balls whenever the one I’m using becomes ineffective. I usually go through about 6-8 cotton balls on a typical night. If you use more or less, that’s fine, just as long as you get all of your makeup off.

3. You can be done if you want and can follow up with a moisturizer, or you can use another cleanser like me to get a really deep cleanse.

My skin has not broken out once from this, in fact, my skin has gotten better since I’m removing my makeup more effectively than if I had just used my regular cleanser method and Clarisonic. I think this is extremely important for everyone, because you really don’t , want to leave makeup on your face when you sleep, you’re just begging for clogged pores at that point.

My skin has had far less dry patches this winter since using this, and if my nose starts getting chapped from the wind, I just rub a dab of this in on my nose and leave it on for the night and wake up with smoother skin in the morning. It’s definitely a holy grail product for me now, I can’t imagine being without it. I wish LUSH would come to Idaho so I didn’t have to buy online or come home from vacations with hoards of their products. Please come to Idaho, LUSH! You have a LUSHette waiting for you!

Where to buy: Lushusa.com and any LUSH stores for $16.95-$29.95

Love,

Meg

11 thoughts on “Anything but bland.

Show some love!

