All that glitters is… purple?

Image

Photo by Alec Kaus, 2010

I can remember the exact moment when I fell in love with makeup. Meghan and I were just two seventeen year old girls sharing a bus seat on a choir trip to Seattle. While I was not particularly fond of cosmetics, Meghan’s collection was in its early stages, and she showed me how to properly use my Revlon eyeshadow quad and Covergirl mascara — the small selection that made up my entire makeup bag. Four years later, I blame that girl for every penny and second I’ve spent drooling over the latest limited edition highlighters and brightest of red lipsticks.

When Miss. Painted Lady asked me to do a monthly post on her blog I immediately thought: NEW YEAR’S EVE MAKEUP! I realize it’s a bit past due, but as a frequent participant of the Saturday night bar scene, I find this look can be done over and over again (and yes, was in fact the look I created specifically to ring in 2013).  It’s taken awhile to perfect the combination of products to create the longest possible lasting look, but after hours of drinking, dancing, making out with random strangers, drinking, laughing our butts off, did I mention drinking? This lasted A.L.L.N.I.G.H.T.L.O.N.G!

Want to know how to do it? I bet you do…

Eyes First

Brows.

Anastasia Brow Powder Duo in Ash Blond & Sephora Clear Brow Gel

Lids.

Primed first with Nars Eye Primer. (VERY IMPORTANT) MUFE Aqua Cream 12 Golden Copper all over lid and blended in with finger. Urban Decay Naked Palette Smog in outer corner and blended through crease with a Mac 217. Mac eyeshadow in Tempting on lower lash line with a Sephora 14 smudge brush.  Bare Minerals eyeshadow in Queen Phyllis lightly dusted on brow bone and inner corners with a Real Techniques shadow brush. Sephora Jumbo Liner in 14 Violet on outer third of lash line (top&bottom) and blended with an Eco Tools concealer brush.

Here’s the fun part.

Too Faced Glitter Glue primer on an Eco Tools liner brush and applied over purple liner. LIT Cosmetics Gal Friday size 2 glitter only on glitter glue with the same brush. Without using a primer, Tarina Tarantino Sparklicity Pure in Nude patted over Queen Phyllis.

Make it pop.

Just a thin line of Sephora Smokey Cream Liner in Cafe with a Sephora Professional Angled Liner brush and lots of Diorshow Blackout mascara.

IMG_6771 IMG_6745

Face Second

Foundation.

Primed first with Hourglass N 28 Primer Serum (So moisturizing and great for dry skin). I used my Givenchy Eclat Matissime foundation in 3 Mat Sand on a Real Techniques Expert Face brush because my skin was behaving. If I want more coverage I typically go with my Photo’Perfexion in 4 Perfect Vanilla with a little Young Blood mineral powder in Pearl on my Shiseido foundation brush. Concealed with OCC concealer in Y1 on the Urban Decay Good Karma eyeshadow brush. Finish it off with It Cosmetics Bye Bye Pores on a Sephora Professional 55 Airbrush.

Contour and Prettify.

Tarte Amazonian Clay Body Bronzer with a Real Techniques blush brush. Tarina Tarantino Dollskin Cheek Palette Carved Rose on apples with a Nakedology large blush brush. Highlight with Dior Amber Diamond on an Eco Tools duo fibre stippling brush.

Pucker up.

Estee Lauder Pure Color Gloss in 7 Tempting Tearose. (One of the few lip glosses I actually like)

IMG_6736

Voila! Chantell Nicole

2 thoughts on “All that glitters is… purple?

  1. Love the color contrast! I remember that trip to Seattle and when you guys came over to do my hair and makeup for my senior prom! Keep posting, I’ll be reading.

    • Ohmygosh, I forgot about that! That was so much fun! Our makeup obsession has gotten so much worse since then! Haha! I’m so happy you liked the post! Chantell did such an awesome job!

Show some love!

