Smooth as a pearl.

Image

Youngblood Natural Loose Foundation in Pearl

What Youngblood says: “Create the naturally flawless look you’ve always coveted with this ultra-fine, luxurious powder. The lightweight formula provides buildable coverage and a soft radiance — without any glitter or shimmer. Its exclusively designed container dispenses the precise amount of powder.”

This summer, my skin did not look too hot. It was irritated, red, bumpy and my acne just wouldn’t go away. Little did I know that half of the reason why was because of my OCC foundation. So I did some research one day and found out that one little ingredient called Isoproyl Myristate is highly irritating and highly comedogenic. Turns out, it was in my tinted moisturizer and liquid foundation. So off I went to look for new foundations, and I came across the Youngblood line. This is their best selling foundation, but I was wary because it was a loose mineral base, and I absolutely loathe Bare Minerals Loose Foundation. Thankfully, the wonderful salon let me have a few samples, and that first day I was completely hooked. I was so glad it didn’t look cakey and weird like Bare Minerals and I received so many compliments on my skin it was unbelievable. I bought it a few days later and am still loving it to this day. 

Image

Youndblood’s Ingenious Packaging

As you can see from the picture, the packaging is much different than other loose mineral foundations. The center is raised and it actually hits the top of the lid so none of it can spill out. It’s completely ingenious. You can decide how much you want to dispense into the lid and not worry about a mess!

It has a fantastic shade range, and I was actually matched to the lightest of all of the colors. It’s a very pale, but definitely warm shade–no pink!! The powder is so smooth, honestly, you have to feel it to believe it. It feels as soft as baby powder and blends like a dream. It packs so much pigment and covers up blemishes or any minor skin imperfections with ease. I would say that this is a medium coverage foundation that you can build up to full. I wear this when my skin is having a rough day and needs some extra coverage because it really will cover anything. However, even though you can build it up to full coverage, it doesn’t look or feel like a heavy foundation and still looks natural. This has never clogged my pores, caused acne, or irritated my skin, which is a miracle in itself for me. I get a good full day’s wear out of this with my Youngblood primer, however, you need to wear this with a silicone primer or else it will disappear. I tried it once with my Clarins Beauty Flash balm and it became patchy and rubbed off within two hours. That is truly the only negative thing about this foundation.

Youngblood is truly an amazing line, I have loved every product I have bought from them and I can’t wait to continue to explore their line. If you have been dealing with acne, skin discoloration or are really irritated by harsh ingredients, check out Youngblood. More than likely, they will have something you will fall in love with.

IMG_4068

Ingredients List: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Mica (CI 77019). May Contain: Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Chromium Hydroxide Green (CI 77289), Chromium Oxide Greens (CI 77288).

Where to buy: online at ybskin.com and in select salons and spas for $42

Love,

Meg

15 thoughts on “Smooth as a pearl.

    • Haha! I am so glad I’m not the only one who can’t stand Bare Minerals Foundation! YB is such a great foundation, and the formula is so far ahead of B.M. I haven’t found any other loose powder foundation that competes with it yet! Let me know if you like it! I’d love to hear your feedback on it! :]

  1. Wow you always come up with so unique products. Bare mineral foundation just did “nothing” to my face. Literally nothing..I don’t know it was my application or may be my skin but it just wont show up on my face :S Neither does the ELF mineral foundation.

    • Really? It just disappeared when you buffed? I’d wish I had the same experience as yours instead of how it looked on me! It looked like the cake-iest foundation and it was so, so thick when I wore it, totally unnatural. This one doesn’t look like that in the least. It pretty much disappears like a liquid foundation! Have you tried any other mineral foundations other than B.M and Elf?

      • Not really.Couldn’t dare to invest more in some high end loose foundations 😛 I am looking for a good one as they are really light on skin, best for summer days.I have combination dry skin but still sometimes in very hot days I don’t feel like wearing liquid foundations. The one you have reviewed seems promising for oily skin,isn’t it ?

      • It’s great for oily skin, just as long as you have a silicone primer underneath it. It wore all day in the summer for me when it was very, very hot and didn’t fade or get patchy. I’d say it’s definitely worth checking out,especially since you haven’t found one you like yet! This may be it :]

  2. Pingback: Cupid’s got a shotgun. | Painted Lady

  3. Pingback: All that glitters is… purple? | Painted Lady

  4. Pingback: Petals to the Metal with a twist FOTD. | Painted Lady

  5. Pingback: Smoke it out. | Painted Lady

  6. Pingback: Get jealous. | Painted Lady

Show some love!

