Behind the moon, beyond the rain…

Image

“A place where there isn’t any trouble. Do you suppose there is such a place, Toto?”

What Sephora says: “Inspired by the Disney film’s theme of good witch vs. bad witch (and the good witch/bad witch dichotomy in all of us), Urban Decay created two collectible palettes loaded with beautiful, never-before-seen shades. Recreate Theodora’s captivating, edgy look and ‘Glinda’s ethereal, spellbinding look’ with eight all new and exclusive eye shadows in six pans (this set includes two duo-shades that are split in half, with a different color on each side of the pan). Every shade features Urban Decay’s Pigment Infusion System™, the proprietary blend of ingredients that gives each shade its velvety texture, rich color, serious staying power, and blendability.”

A place without any trouble, huh? Well even if it does exist, I think I’ll stay on this side of the rainbow… These palettes themselves are quite troublesome. At just under $50 a piece, they are leading my bank account anywhere but down the yellow brick road — more like to a little red line where my account balance should be. But, did that stop me from giving in to the temptation of these beauties? Hell. No. Ladies and gents, Urban Decay has presented the world with two little gems that I’d take over a pair of ruby slippers any day.

Image

The Urban Decay Theodora Palette

Image

The Theodora palette is by far my favorite and most used of the two. I was actually hesitant to buy this one because I already own so many neutral eyeshadows, so many, but I’ll admit, just the packaging was enough to convince me that I needed a few more. Seriously, this thing is too cute to hide in a makeup bag, it’s sitting pretty with my perfume. The red lip color that comes with it is stunning. It’s a vibrant, classic red, and a staple for any collection. It is a bit sticky, but the color lasts and lasts. The liner, like the rest of Urban Decay’s liners, is smooth and creamy, and blends like dream. It isn’t my favorite as far as pigment goes, but it works. I would not suggest this for the waterline if you have access to something more long-wearing, but it gets the job done. My biggest complaint is the packaging of the liners and lip pencils in both palettes. The caps slide off easily – don’t let them wander freely in your purse, I made that mistake, and you have to sharpen them – so make sure you’ve got a good sharpener on hand.

Image

left to right: broken, beware, bewitch, west, spell (black&gold), jealous (greens)

Image

left to right: Black 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil, Theodora Super-Saturated High-Gloss Lip Color

I’ve constantly been playing around with different combinations of the colors, this is one look I did using all 8 colors and the liner.

Image

“This is the Wicked Witch of the West. She’s far worse than the other one.”

Image

“Close your eyes and tap your heels together three times.”

Image

The Urban Decay Glinda Palette

IMG_6982So far this palette has been used mostly on friends who are brave enough to let me experiment on their faces. They’re so good to me. I am absolutely captivated by the colors though. While they seem like they would create a lovely daytime look -which they do- they can make your eyes feel like they’re definitely not in Kansas anymore. The hardest color to work with has been the gold Oz color, it doesn’t apply as pigmented as it swatches and there is a bit of glitter fall-out with the silver too, but they are both a fun choice to use in the inner corners. The lightest shades in Aura are almost holographic, they have a purpleish tint when blended together that just glows when used as a brow highlight.

left to right: Tornado, Aura (light blue&pink), Magic, Illusion, Oz (gold&silver), South

left to right: Tornado, Aura (light blue&pink), Magic, Illusion, Oz (gold&silver), South

Glinda Super-Saturated High-Gloss Lip Color, Purple 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil

Glinda Super-Saturated High-Gloss Lip Color, Purple 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil

Again, I wanted to include a look using all 8 colors and the liner from the Glinda palette.

thank you to the lovely Jamie for always letting me play around with those amazing green eyes

thank you to the lovely Jamie for always letting me play around with those amazing green eyes

IMG_6949$50 each really isn’t too bad for these with the use I’ve gotten out of them so far. I would be willing, and am even considering buying a couple backups while they are still available at Sephora. Makeup is truly an obsession, one I might even trade my heart, brain, and courage for. … and that mangy little dog too.

Where to buy: Sephora for $49 (each, limited edition)

So are you a good witch or a bad witch?

bad witch — definitely a bad witch, Chantell Nicole.

5 thoughts on “Behind the moon, beyond the rain…

Show some love!

