Everything begins with a clean slate.

Image

Tarte Clean Slate Flawless 12h Brightening Primer

What Sephora says: “This primer helps makeup stay in place longer while brightening skin for a healthy, glowing complexion. For use as a hydrating base, this formula keeps your makeup in place for up to 12 hours of perfect wear. It’s also a quick fix for tired or sallow skin—just one application and skin looks instantly radiant.This product is formulated without  silicones, parabens, sulfates, synthetic fragrances, petrochemicals, phthalates, GMO’s and Triclosan.”

I am really picky about what I put on my skin before I apply my makeup. To be honest, I’m not a huge fan of layering on a bunch of products because I feel like it’s just too much. I like to be simple. Also, I think that putting on a moisturizer before foundation makes it look too heavy. I know, that’s kind of weird but hear me out. I’ve tried numerous moisturizers, and no matter how light they say they are, I still think they’re too heavy to be applied underneath my makeup. So I got to thinking that maybe my saving grace would be to look for a moisturizing primer to use as my moisturizer during the day. I figured that since it’s a primer, it would help extend my makeup a lot more than just a regular moisturizer would. You know what? I couldn’t be happier with the results. This is exactly what I was looking for. 

Image

What I love about Tarte is that it’s a brand that never ceases to amaze me. I’ve loved every single one of their products that I’ve tried, and not once has anything ever irritated my skin. That in itself is a miracle. I had previously tried this primer before in a sample packet, but since I have combination-oily skin, I didn’t think that this would be a good fit for me and I after a few times of using it, I gave it to my mom. It wasn’t until a few weeks ago that I noticed my beloved Clarins Beauty Balm was the source of my clogged pores, and I began to search for something different. That’s when I remembered this beauty, and snagged up a few samples before I headed back up to my university. What I had previously faulted it for, I loved now! My skin felt soft and supple, and it didn’t feel as if I was smothering it in moisture. It gave my skin a nice glow due to their being a soft lilac tint and was the perfect base the rest of my makeup. I really feel like it helped extend my makeup much better during the day, and it helped everything go on much smoother as well.

Here’s how I use it. First, I put on this primer after I cleanse my face to act as my moisturizer. Then, I put on my Algenist UV Defense fluid (review soon) and after I do my eye makeup, I apply my Youngblood Mineral primer and then my Urban Decay Naked Skin Foundation. However, if your skin is very dry, I do recommend you to use the right moisturizer for your skin, as this is not going to provide the moisture that you need when used alone. But, I think this is definitely something to look into if you want to stay away from silicones, as it is silicone free.

Overall, this is a fantastic product. I am absolutely thrilled that I have it, and my skin could not be happier. I highly recommend that you check this out, either as a primer or a light moisturizer to use for the day. I don’t think you will be disappointed.

Where to buy: online at Sephora and in stores for $30

Love,

Meg

19 thoughts on “Everything begins with a clean slate.

  1. After reading your post, I’ve realized that I don’t actually pay attention to the staying-power and effects of the various primers I own. I’ll be paying much closer attention from now on. Hopefully I’ll get the same great results from this one that you did.

    • It’s hard to write reviews and remember everything! Sometimes I find myself going back and editing because I forgot something. I hope you have the same results too! It really is a fantastic product!

  2. Pingback: Petals to the Metal with a twist FOTD. | Painted Lady

  3. Pingback: Dark Goddess FOTD | Painted Lady

  4. Pingback: Is it spring yet? FOTD. | Painted Lady

  5. Pingback: Smoke it out. | Painted Lady

  6. Pingback: Face of the Day! | Painted Lady

  7. Pingback: Send your skin to rehab. | Painted Lady

Show some love!

