Bad to the Beige!

Image

Maybelline Color Tattoo Metal in Barely Branded

What Maybelline says: “Cream gel eye shadow for long-lasting shimmery metallic shades Smooth, Bold Metallic Shades, 24HR wear cream gel formula for smooth application.”

I hate to say this, but I used to be somewhat of a Sephora snob. I still kind of am, but since I moved away for college, I’ve had to be a lot tighter with my money. It was a kick in the face to realize how much money I’ve spent over the years on high end makeup, and I decided I needed to see what I was missing back at the drugstore. Turns out, I was missing out on a lot. Especially when it came to eye shadows. I won’t be snubbing them again, because this eye shadow definitely holds its own against it’s higher end sisters. 

Image

See that finger print? Yeah, I couldn’t wait.

I knew I immediately wanted this eye shadow because it’s been named as a dupe for MAC’s Paint Pot Bare Study. I love that color and I had been wanting it for ages! And if you can’t tell, I just love beiges. I practically ran around to all of the drugstores in my little college town and came up empty for a few weeks. I was a sad little beauty blogger. Then one day, I found it. My precious, I found it. It was the last one on the display and I snatched it up. It was finally mine! So what I did I do instead of take pictures of all of it in its pristine? I swatched it. I have no regrets.

This color was exactly what I was looking for. A beige without too much pink, brown, or yellow. It’s a great neutral color, and really helps to brighten your eyes without going into frosty territory. It’s smooth to the touch, but it does tend to drag a bit if you tend to get a little overzealous, like I have. Instead of swiping it across my eyes, I like to pat because it distributes the color much more evenly. I also like using it as an eye shadow primer, and it holds up my shadows really well, as well as adding a pearly sheen that wouldn’t have normally been there with a normal eye shadow primer. It’s so easy to just swipe on and go in the mornings when I don’t feel like putting much makeup on. It’s the perfect no fuss, bright eyed look in seconds. In the pictures below, I have swatches of Barely Branded, and comparison shots of MAC’s Paint Pots in Bare Study and Painterly for references.

Image

Swatch of Bare Study

Image

Left to right: Bare Study, Painterly

I hope you can see that Barely Branded and Bare Study are almost spot on dupes. I would say that Bare Study blends smoother on lids, but if you’re willing to put in just a few more seconds to blend Barely Branded, you’ll get the same results. I would hurry to grab this though, it is a limited edition color. I might go and grab a back up!

Where to buy: online at Maybelline  and in drug stores for $6.99

Love,

Meg

14 thoughts on “Bad to the Beige!

  1. Pingback: Is it spring yet? FOTD. | Painted Lady

  2. Pingback: Who says neutral has to be boring? | Painted Lady

Show some love!

