How to fix broken makeup.

Are you as clumsy as I am? I hope not. I tend to be really harsh with my makeup, which doesn’t always turn out so well. Back before I knew how to fix broken makeup, I would always try to use my broken, powdery mess until I got too frustrated and threw it away. Well, now you don’t have to. Sadly, the inspiration for this post came from me breaking my Petals to the Metal Eyeshadow the same day I bought it. I told you I was bad. I’ve been fixing my broken makeup for the past few months, and I’m happy to report that it’s easier than it might sound!  All you need is one ingredient, a light hand and some patience and your favorite eye shadow or blush will be looking almost as good as new!

Ingredients 

A few drops of rubbing alcohol

Tools

Butter knife

Steps

Image

Sad day.

1.Carefully open your broken makeup and if it’s not completely crushed into little bitty pieces, do it now. The finer it is, the easier it will be to put it back together and the nicer it will look. I usually just crush mine with a knife

2. Unscrew the lid from the rubbing alcohol and pour a few drops into the cap. It’s much easier to use the cap rather than just dropping alcohol from the container on the product, you will get too much. Trust me. Then take those droplets from the cap and gently drop a few on to the product

Image

I’m sorry it’s blurry! My camera didn’t want to work for me that day.

3. You’ll need to start working quickly on this part because the alcohol starts to sink in really quickly. Take your knife and start to slowly pat and blend the product. It’s going to stick to the knife, but don’t worry, you can fix that later. If it’s sticking really bad, put a few more droplets of rubbing alcohol on it to make it more liquid-y. You don’t want it to be a swamp though, just enough to be able to blend everything together.This is the hardest part of the whole process and takes a few minutes. Wait a few moments until the product starts to absorb a bit more, it’ll make it easier to spread

Image

4. Once it starts molding together, it’s going to get really squishy. This is when you can start making it look pretty again. Just take the knife and smooth it over the rough edges, until it starts to look the way you want it.

Image

A little bumpy, but it gives it character!

5. It takes awhile to dry, sometimes even as much as a day depending on how much rubbing alcohol you used. Wait however long it until it’s dry and then you can begin using it again!

It’s not going to be as buttery or as pretty as when you first got it, but it’ll come close after a few uses. It’ll also smooth out too any of the remaining rougher parts that were hard to blend. What’s good or bad depending on your preference, if the product had any sparkles originally, they’re usually reduced when fixed. I fixed my NARS Orgasm blush and the sparkles are all but gone (which I love!) and with Petals to the Metal, it still retains its gorgeous shimmer, but not the stray glitter particles and I am totally fine with that! The color is still the same too, so you don’t have to worry about that either. However, it is a bit more fragile once it is dry so be careful with it. It’s still your same product, just with more character. I’ll let you in on a little secret. The swatch photos taken from my Petals to the Metal review? They were done after I had already broken it, and the swatches showed up perfect.

Please let me know if you have any questions or if I can make the steps easier! I hope this helps!

Love,

Meg

4 thoughts on “How to fix broken makeup.

Show some love!

