Have you ever heard of Sea Buckthorn?

Image

Sibu Sea Buckthorn Seed Oil (can you tell I accidentally dropped the bottle?)

What Sibu says: “High in the Tibetan Himalayas (12,000 feet above sea level) grows a tiny but resilient fruit that resists the harsh weather conditions and high altitudes. The sea buckthorn berry fortifies itself against the elements by producing an array of powerful nutrients. With over 190 bioactive compounds, sea buckthorn is an unsurpassed source of Omegas 3, 6, and 9. And it’s a rich source of the elusive essential fatty acid, Omega-7, an essential fatty acid vital to collagen production and healthy skin, hair and nails.” Paraben free, cruelty free, no dairy, wheat, gluten, sodium, yeast or preservatives. 

Earlier this winter, my skin was desperate for some moisture. The dry air, wind and cold were extremely harsh and my skin just couldn’t take it. I was extremely skeptical about looking into oils considering my skin is so breakout prone, but I felt that I had no other choice. So I began looking into oils that were deemed ‘safe’ for acneic skin. When I found this and I saw that it was available at my local co-op, I decided to give it a go. It was just what my skin needed.

Yes, it is orange!

Yes, it is orange!

Sea Buckthorn Seed Oil has so many benefits. I listed quite a few above, but that’s not all of them. It helps fight wrinkles and fine lines, aids in healing for rosacea and eczema, and is extremely moisturizing for dry skin. Eating the berries has even more benefits if you can find them! I’ve been taking Sea Buckthorn caplets for a few months and it’s really helped stabilize my acne, which is an added benefit. I’d love to get the liquid supplement, so hopefully after I finish my caplets, I’ll go ahead and splurge on that. I’ve heard it’s fantastic!

If you are acne prone and scared about oils, I would give this one a try. I only use one to two droplets at most at night along with my moisturizer and it sinks right in. I make sure to really press it into my skin for a few minutes and massage it into my face, and my skin looks so plump and rejuvenated after! My skin always looks so fresh in the morning, and it seems as is my acne scars and fine lines around my mouth aren’t as noticeable either. It does have a tendency to get greasy if you use too much, however, that might just be the case for my combination/oily skin. I’m sure if you have dry skin, a few more droplets of oil would benefit you. The only downside to this oil is that I did end up getting a few little bumps right underneath my jawline after two weeks solid of using it, but I was using way more than I should have. Back then I was using around 4 droplets a night, and I’m sure it was just too much for my skin to handle. I reduced it to one and I haven’t had any problems since. I haven’t used it in a few weeks since the weather has been warmer, but if the weather decides to throw a curve-ball at me, I’m glad I have this handy.

If you are suffering from dry skin, this is a must have. It has so many more benefits than other traditional oils, and will be exactly what you’re looking for. If you have combination skin like I do, I would still give this a try and use it whenever your skin needs an extra moisture boost. It’s a fantastic product that I know I can rely on, and I’m glad I pushed through my fears to get it.

Where to buy: online at Sibu and select health food stores for $15.95

Love,

Meg

23 thoughts on “Have you ever heard of Sea Buckthorn?

    • I don’t know if you could tell in the pictures, but my knuckles were dryer than a bone! I have used it on my hands before and it worked wonders. It also worked fantastic on my nails and cuticles. It’s an all around wonder product. I highly recommend it over Argan Oil, this is much better.

      • Thank you! I gotta definitely try it. If it wasn’t for your post I would have never ever discovered this magical oil. I can’t wait to try it out on my hands and hair. My hair definitely needs some love and moisture. ; ;

      • No problem! I’m so glad I could help! :] I’ve never used it on my hair, but I’m sure it would work fantastic! Please let me know what you think!

  1. Actually, I’m generally a dried grand canyon from head to toe. Dry skin, dry hair… I need to check this out. I have a feeling that I saw some products from Weleda with that (Sanddorn in German, if I’m not mistaken). 🙂

    • Weleda does have a body product that has Sea Buckthorn in it! I believe it is a moisturizer :] I hope you find something that helps! It’s too bad this isn’t more readily available!

  2. I only know of it being an ingredient in Fresh’s Seaberry Face Oil! And I think it’s an amazing deal to get the pure stuff for $16! I might have to check that out! ;D

    • I love Fresh’s Sea Berry oil! This is from the seed though, so it’s a bit different. This is a great and cheaper alternative to that, so definitely check it out! I hope you love it!

      • Ah! The oil being from the seed sounds really pure and rich so it’s exciting! 🙂 I hope so too thanks!

  3. omg..this is something my skin badly needs! I have very bad Eczema and it gets worse in winters! I can never bleach/wax anything..neiter I can try different things to find out what suits me 😦

    • Darn! That sounds terrible. Definitely check this out, I’m sure they’d have it in Pakistan or at least a product containing Sea Buckthorn. On a side note, have you ever bought a humidifier? That’s really been helping keep my skin hydrated as well!

Show some love!

