A palette, a park, and the most perfect day.

IMAG0911

It’s been no secret that I absolutely love being twenty-one, but I was more than happy to trade in my adult privileges for five days of pure childhood amusement. Okay, so I didn’t completely hand over the booze, but I did get to act like a twelve year old and that was pretty awesome.

I wouldn’t by any means say I had a deprived childhood, but unlike most families, mine never did the amusement/theme park thing. We spent our summers in Yellowstone. Every. Single. Inch of Yellowstone. So ever since The Wizarding World of Harry Potter opened in Orlando I have been dreaming dying completely mad about going! My entire life until this point has been one big Voldemort obsession. Ask anyone, that is a confirmed fact. Three months before the trip I was already purchasing travel sized soaps and lotions (most of which I didn’t take because I couldn’t fit them in that damn zip-lock). Makeup was an even bigger issue. How the heck was I supposed to fit my Harry Potter obsession AND my makeup obsession in one carry-on? Well, the day before I left, problem solved. THANK YOU SPRING MAKEUP!! Tarte popped out another treasure I just couldn’t leave the store without. An amazing little palette complete with six eyeshadows, a bronzer, blush, and highlighter. And bonus! All of it is waterproof–perfect for humidity, which Florida is no stranger to.

IMG_7710

The Tarte Aqualillies Waterproof Palette

IMG_7877

Highlighter: Champagne. Bronzer: Matte Park Avenue Princess. Blush: Captivating.
Eyeshadows: Hammock, Bikini, Barefoot, Parasol, Sun Deck, Poolside.

This thing stayed put!-All day!!-I was amazed!-Without a primer!

I had to keep things pretty simple with my space issue, so I skipped moisturizer and sunscreen and used Philosophy’s Hope in a Tinted Moisturizer which has hydration, sun protection, and light coverage all in one. For areas needing more coverage I stuck with my OCC concealer in Y1, but I tried not to be too fussy with my imperfections, expecting that most of my makeup would melt off anyways–but it didn’t! I left the liners at home and used the dark brown in the Tarte palette to line my eyes, but I couldn’t part with my Anastasia Brow Powder Duo. For mascara I took Givenchy Phenomen-Eyes because the tube is pretty small. It all packed very nicely and nothing was damaged or lost. I’m quite proud to say that.

So far, I’ve been using this palette almost everyday since I got back, it’s just so easy to keep in my purse for emergency makeup. The one color I’m not quite in love with is Bikini, the yellowy-pinkish gold eyeshadow. (It’s also not seen the most love either) The shadows are all pretty soft so they can crumble easily and if you’re not careful with Hammock, the fallout can leave you looking a little raccoonish. I’ve never even considered using Park Avenue Princess until now. Every time I’ve swatched it I thought it looked too red, but I’m like 99.924% sure it’s my new favorite.

Swatches from left to right: Hammock, Bikini, Barefoot, Parasol, Sun Deck, Poolside.

Swatches from left to right: Hammock, Bikini, Barefoot, Parasol, Sun Deck, Poolside.

Swatches from left to right: Champagne, Matte Park Avenue Princess, Captivating.

Swatches from left to right: Champagne, Matte Park Avenue Princess, Captivating.

And now for the really fun part… TRIP PHOTOS!

The most charming hotel room ever--The Castle!

The most charming hotel room ever–The Castle!

Whenever someone says I can't marry Lord Voldemort because he isn't real, I just show them this picture and say, "And you also said Hogwarts wasn't real..."

Whenever someone says I can’t marry Lord Voldemort because he isn’t real, I just show them this picture and say, “And you also said Hogwarts wasn’t real…”

Feeling pretty enchanted at this point.

Feeling pretty enchanted at this point.

DSC00808

Butterbeer! Pumpkin Juice! Cauldron Cakes! Chocolate Frogs! Probably a good thing these aren't infinitely available in real life.

Butterbeer! Pumpkin Juice! Cauldron Cakes! Chocolate Frogs! Probably a good thing these aren’t infinitely available in real life.

And the highlight of my trip! The moment I was selected to have a wand choose me. Almost in tears! After I immediately wanted to call my dad--isn't that what a proposal is supposed to feel like? I can't imagine anything gets better.

And the highlight of my trip! The moment I was selected to have a wand choose me. Almost in tears! After, I immediately wanted to call my dad–isn’t that what a proposal is supposed to feel like? I can’t imagine anything gets better.

Our other days were spent exploring the Disney Animal and Magic Kingdoms, SeaWorld, and drinking and dining at Margaritaville and Bubba Gump.

Our other days were spent exploring the Disney Animal and Magic Kingdoms, SeaWorld, and drinking and dining at Margaritaville and Bubba Gump.

Show some love!

