Face Mask Friday! Purifying Star Fruit Sheet Mask!

Image

Freeman Facial Purifying Star Fruit Paper Mask

What Freeman says: “This serum infused paper facial mask with Star Fruit helps calm skin stressed by flare ups. Lavender and Niacinamide help balance oil production. Tea Tree soothes breakout stressed skin. Perfect for combination to oily skin.”

If you’ve been following my twitter account, I’m sure you’ve heard me complain, whine talk about the lack of sheet masks in the USA. They have so many awesome benefits and are ridiculously abundant in Asia, so why can’t the we seem to jump on the bandwagon too? Well, I’m really happy to say that I found some really good ones, and for cheap too! As much as I hate going to Walmart, these are so worth it. Get on it!

EDIT 1/3/2014  This mask has been causing many problems for people with sensitive skin. Only you know your skin, so please use with caution. If you have any problem after using this mask, please let me know and I can try to help. 

Image

Looks scary, right?

The ingredients are phenomenal for such a low price tag. Niacinamide (the second ingredient) is known for its benefits for anti-aging, helping with skin elasticity and it even helps with acne. Star Fruit extract (the fourth ingredient) has natural acids in it that help exfoliate the skin and help reduce break outs and red marks.

My skin soaks up this mask, it absolutely loves it! This masks feels super smooth but sticky when you first put it on. It has a sweet smell that lingers while you wear it, and I find it really relaxing. I’m guessing it’s the lavender! It doesn’t have the best fit ever, a few places are far too big but I didn’t expect it to fit my face perfectly either. I leave it on for about 15-20 minutes, and then gently peel it off and massage the left over serum into my skin. My skin feels supple, hydrated and much less red when I remove it. While I’ve only tried this mask about three times, my red marks have definitely started fading quicker. I wish I could use one every night of the week!

Image

I have no shame anymore!

These have become my new obsession, and I plan on checking out the other ones they have available. I’m so excited I finally get to try sheet masks out! It totally made my week when I saw them! You guys need to as well, especially since the Star Fruit ones have 50 cents off coupons attached to them too. I got these for less than a dollar each!

Where to buy: online at Freeman Beauty and at Walmart for $1.37

Love,

Meg

14 thoughts on “Face Mask Friday! Purifying Star Fruit Sheet Mask!

  1. Just used this, and it gave me that chemical peel redness. It felt great on, like it was doing something, then at about 8 minutes in it started burning a tiny bit, so I removed it and there’s redness on my cheeks and nose, and my pores are a little more visible. I’m glad I tried it though, and have loved sheet masks in the past so I’m going to keep trying others (and hope this heals nicely tomorrow).

    Freeman had a sheet mask without a liner that was a kind of aqua clay type liquid, it smelled minty, i loved that one, not sure if it’s still available now that these new ones are.

    • Hi Sarah! Is your skin sensitive? I wonder what ingredient would irritate your skin in such a way. Maybe the Starfruit was too exfoliating? I hope your skin is doing all right today! Definitely baby it for a bit and moisturize it well, I’m sure it will be okay :] I haven’t seen that clay sheet mask yet, but I’ll have to keep an eye out for it!

    • When I used this mask I experienced the same result! I looked like I sunburned my face! Even though it left my skin smooth and soft the burning/ tingling feeling and redness are enough for me to never use it again.

      • Oh wow, Tina! I’m sorry! I’m very surprised at both of your skins reactions. It just reminds me that everyones skin is different and reacts differently than mine. I hope your face has calmed down!

  2. I had the same burning and redness i had to take a shower to make it stop. even after my face was red and swollen for a while. but oddly enough it did fell clean like 3 layers of skin removed clean :/

    • Ohmygoodness, I can’t believe this mask has had so many problems for people. I’m very sorry that it irritated your skin! My skin must be way less sensitive than I thought if others are having problems and I’m not. Does your face feel alright now? Try using some Pure Aloe Vera and honey, that should help calm your skin down a little bit!

  3. MY SKIN FELL UNDER THE SAME REACTION AS THE LOVELY LADIES ABOVE. I ACTUALLY LOVE SHEET MASKS BUT THIS IS THE SECOND TIME MY SKIN HAS FELT LIKE I JUST STUCK MY FACE IN THE TANNING MACHINE FOR TOO LONG! VERY MUCH LIKE A CHEMICAL PEEL, BUT MORE PAINFUL. I’M GIVING MY SKIN A BREAK TONIGHT AND IN THE MORNING I AM DOING A MILK AND HONEY RINSE TO HELP SOOTHE IT. I’M GLAD THIS MASK WORKED FOR YOU THOUGH! ALL SKIN IS DIFFERENT, SO LUCKY YOU FOR USING THIS PRODUCT!

  4. I just used this product and I had it on for like 4min then I started feeling a burn on my face. I took it off immediately and my face was as red as a tomato and it was burning. I don’t know what to do.

    • I’m so sorry to hear that! Here is what I would do-I would run to the store and grab some 100% Organic Pure Aloe Vera. My favorite is the Lakewood Organics and rub a generous amount onto your skin. That should help it calm down if you keep reapplying every hour or so. What you can also do is make an oat mask with some milk, oats are extremely soothing. You can mix 1/4c of oats with about 1/8c of milk (fattier the better, like 2%) and a little bit of aloe. Make sure when you use it, your face is a little damp after you cleansed and leave it on for about 10 minutes, you don’t want it to be a hard mess on your face. Then just gently cup your face with warm water to gently get it off– NO RUBBING– and that should help a lot. Please let me know if you have anymore questions!

  5. I wish I read this sooner I’ve used a bunch of freeman single products before and had awesome success so I bought a bunch and am trying all of them. I put this on and it smelled great and felt great until it started feeling ht on my skin. My face looks like a red raccoon and it is hot and burning 😦 I have mildly sensitive skin but like I said none of the other freeman products have ever done this to me. I’m not sure what to do. I have an important meeting tomorrow am and hoping it goes away 😦 def wont use this one again 😦

    • Oh no, I’m so sorry Alysia! This mask has caused so many problems for my readers and I feel so bad! Here’s what I would do. Grab some organic Aloe Vera from a natural grocery store, and massage it onto your face. I would do this at least three times a day, it really helps. Drinking lots of water will help calm the redness down as well, and a moisturizing mask (like honey!) can help a bunch as well with calming and putting moisture back in your skin. Let me know how it goes! I hope your face is less red after! 🙂 Please don’t hesitate to ask any more questions!

Show some love!

