Face Mask Friday–Moroccan Red Clay Mask!

Image

NOW Solutions Moroccan Red Clay Powder

What NOW says: “Moroccan Red Clay is an all natural powder clay that is highly absorbent and mixes easily with water and other moisturizing products. It serves as an excellent facial cleanser and purifying masque, especially for individuals with sensitive skin. It’s for sensitive skin in need of detoxification to remove impurities and in need of smaller pore size and tighter skin tone.”

When I was browsing the aisles of my natural health food store in search of vegetable glycerin, I came upon this little jar of wonder. I had never heard of Moroccan Red Clay before and before I knew it, it ended up in my cart. This is a fantastic mask for those with sensitive skin who don’t normally venture out into the world of clay masks. You will definitely want to check this out! 

Image

Moroccan Red Clay is also known as Rhassoul Mud and is known for its high iron oxide content which helps to restore the skins radiance. It helps re-balance skin conditions such as psoriasis, acne and eczema and also improves the skins texture and elasticity. It really helps to detoxify inflamed skin and aid in blood circulation to speed healing.

My skin has never felt so soft from a clay mask in my life, it absolutely adores this mask! It really lives up to its claims and detoxes your skin, my pimples are noticeably less red and go away much quicker. If I have a very pesky cyst I need to get rid of, I use this as a spot treatment at night and when I wake up it will usually have decreased in size. My skin looks brighter, and feels very fresh after I take this off.

However, while it says to use this with water and make a mask, I completely disagree. I tried it that was the first night I used it and it dried way too quickly and left a huge sucker mark on my face when I removed it. I’m not even kidding. This stuff is the real deal, so please be careful. The way I like to use it is with other moisturizing ingredients, like honey, yogurt and aloe vera. Just mix a little bit of one of those in with your mask, and you will be good to go. I have been mixing this red clay powder in almost every mask I’ve created lately and it’s been such a beneficial ingredient! I’ll be posting a turmeric one next week using this as a base. It’s positively lovely!

Image

I love how rich the color is!

Definitely pick up a jar of this stuff, it’s amazing. Your skin will thank you!

Where to buy: online at NOW and if you are in Boise, at the Natural Grocers next to Barnes and Noble for $4.35

Love,

Meg

3 thoughts on “Face Mask Friday–Moroccan Red Clay Mask!

Show some love!

