Inventive but not impeccable.

Image

Giorgio Armani Maestro Fusion Foundation in 02

What Armani says: “A formula that is easy to apply with unified distribution, and covers imperfections.  An ultra-fine oil-pigment suspension that perfects the complexion, instantly igniting skin’s natural luminosity. A water and powder-free base.”

Last May, I finally was able to afford this foundation and I bought it for a bride’s wedding as well as for myself. I’d been wanting to try it since it launched and I was so stoked to finally own it! I thought it was going to solve all of my foundation woes with a single pump. Well, to tell you the truth it didn’t live up to the claims I so desperately wanted in a foundation. While it’s not the worst foundation I’ve tried, it’s certainly not the best. I’ll explain why.

Image

The dispenser

The lovely thing about this foundation is that it does have wonderful lasting power. It would continually last all day on me and I only had to touch up once during the day to reduce my shine. Besides that, it’s one of the most long lasting foundations that I’ve tried. My shade match was almost spot on as well, the lightest shade (02) worked perfect for me. It was a tad light for the summer but nothing that bronzer couldn’t fix, and the slight yellow tint of the foundation really helped mask my red marks without making my skin look sallow. This foundation also feels so cool! It seriously has one of the most remarkable textures I’ve ever come across in a foundation. It’s very runny and provides an almost effortless slip when you apply it.

Image

Giorgio Armani Maestro lightest three foundation shades

I knew when I bought this foundation that it wasn’t going to give a lot of coverage, and that is what I wanted. I wanted something to cover up my skins imperfections lightly but still look natural and then use a heavier concealer where I needed it. At first, I loved this foundation! It looked perfect on my bride when I applied it and she loved it as well. When my skin was in great shape, it looked amazing. However, I soon began to notice that if my skin was not properly moisturized or wasn’t in too good of shape, this seemed to emphasize and magnify every single imperfection my skin had, especially if it was dry. It physically looked like it aged my skin. I think the reason is because there’s absolutely no water in this foundation, it’s made up entirely of oils which allows it to slip and blend effortlessly but there’s no moisture to it. I thought my skin would love it being combination/oily but it just didn’t sit well on my skin the majority of the time.

Image

The easiest way to apply this foundation to me is with your fingers. It helps warm it up a bit and when I did use a brush the foundation just seemed to seep through the bristles and waste it. I found that it performed much better without a primer underneath as well, it sat on top of my skin when I did wear a primer it and did not help the lasting power. This is definitely a foundation you use on its own.

Image

My bare, moisturized skin.

As you can see, my bare skin is not perfect. I have scars, some light acne and dark spots but other than that my texture is pretty good. It’s still bouncy and has a glow to it.

Image

Wearing two layers of Giorgio Armani Maestro Fusion Foundation

As you can see, there is no luminosity to this foundation. It can look very flat if you don’t contour or highlight properly. I actually prefer my foundations semi-matte but sometimes this just looked too flat for my liking. However, if you don’t like any shine to your foundations, this is definitely for you.

Overall, this is just an okay foundation. I truly think that Armani is onto something special with this technology and it’s exciting to see something so different but in my opinion it could still be tweaked to be better. For such a high price tag, I expected it to blow me away and it saddens me that it didn’t work for me.

I do think that everyone should get a sample of this foundation to see how it performs on their skin because I have seen some flat out amazing reviews of people loving it. So don’t completely rule it out before trying it because it just might be your holy grail.

Where to buy: online at Giorgio Armani Beauty and in Nordstrom stores for $62

Love,

Meg

2 thoughts on “Inventive but not impeccable.

    • I’m glad I could help Vera! I would honestly get a sample first, it really depends on the person! I’ve heard the new cream based version of it is actually better! So you might want to check that out as well 😀

Show some love!

