Lock in the coverage.

Image

Kat Von D Lock It Tattoo Foundation in 45

What Sephora says: “Kat created this foundation to provide exceptional coverage, without compromising a smooth, striking finish. Formulated with 21 percent pigment, this powerful formula was developed to match a broad range of skintones with bold coverage—the proprietary pigments can even effectively cover tattoos. The combination of raw materials and the best siliconic elastomers and siliconic esters provide 24-hour wear with transfer resistance. Natural polymers absorb oil for a matte, soft finish and the added emollients provide a velvety texture for perfectly smooth, hydrated skin.”

When my skin is severely misbehaving (which let’s be honest, sometimes it just likes to be a total jerk) I reach for this. I’ve been using this for the past couple of months and it has more than once allowed me to walk out of the house not completely self conscious. Especially around that time of the month when all I want to do is cover my face with a paper bag and crawl under my bed covers with a bottle of Tylenol and the BBC Sherlock series. If your face is misbehaving, pick this up. 

Image

Thick stripe on left, softly blended on right

This is a full coverage foundation that means serious business, and I am not joking. It will cover up anything you want it to depending on the tool you use. I use a damp beauty blender to apply it and I get plenty of coverage. However, if you really want maximum coverage, I suggest using a flat topped brush to really buff it into the skin. You can also use this as a concealer which I do frequently! I just take the tipped part of my beauty blender, dip it lightly into the foundation and spot conceal until I get the coverage I desire. It works like a charm! Since this is a full coverage foundation, it can feel a bit heavy. However, I feel that most of the heaviness tends to disappear about 20 minutes into wearing it, which is usually when it begins to settle.

It doesn’t feel sticky nor is it an overly wet foundation. It does dry quickly though, so be sure to blend fast! It does have a tendency to stick to small dry patches on your skin but if you exfoliate and moisturize properly it is very minimal. The finish is mostly matte, but it looks beautiful when paired with a shimmery bronzer and highlighter.

The lasting power of this foundation is phenomenal. I work in a very hot and fast environment and I am a student, so I have extremely long days. From the time I put it on a 8am, I have until about 3pm until I need just a little touch up on my t-zone. Everything else looks great and wears strong until 7pm until I take it off to go to Ultimate practice. That’s an eleven hour day! It barely migrates during the day and it’s nothing that a little powder can’t fix if it does. With this being such a long wear foundation, you need to properly take it off. the oil cleansing method works well to get this off, but it does come off fairly well with a cleansing makeup wipe and some help from my Clarisonic. Like any foundation, if you don’t properly remove it, it will break you out. I have yet to experience any breakouts from this but I do make sure to completely remove all of it at night!

Image

Bare face

Image

One layer with a damp beauty blender

KatvonD3

Two layers applied with a damp beauty blender with minor concealing

All of this was achieved with only half a pump of the Kat Von D Lock It Tattoo Foundation. I normally use about a full pump for my entire face and then about 1/4 of a pump for both concealing my eyes and extra red spots. As you can see, the coverage is amazing. These photos are not retouched except for minor lighting problems.

Bottom line: if your skin is being a jerk, tame it with this.

Where to buy: in stores and online at Sephora for $34

Love,

Meg

17 thoughts on “Lock in the coverage.

    • I totally know what you mean, it sounds like our skin is very similar! This is a fantastic foundation in terms of coverage, especially on those days when your skin just don’t cooperate! Is your skin more dry or oily? I’ll be reviewing the powder one very soon, and I actually feel as if it does a better job! So keep on the lookout for that review as well 🙂

Show some love!

