My Winter Skin Saviors

Image Brr! Baby, it’s cold outside! I don’t know about you, but all of this snow, hail, wind and rain is not what my skin ordered. I’ve been extremely diligent about making sure my skin is moisturized and free from dry patches, and so far I’ve succeeded. Last year was a different case, and it seemed as if my skin would permanently be red, dry and irritated. I refused to let dry skin get the better of me and I came up with a regimen that my skin adores. These are just a few of my favorites!

Dermalogica Ultra Calming Cleanser- I have not done a review for this yet, but I will be. My skin adores this cleanser and it has helped significantly with easing irritation and redness since I bought it in the late fall. I’m using Retin-A Micro and I needed a cleanser that was going to soothe my skin and not strip away my natural oils, and it was love as first try with this one. It doesn’t foam, and it’s very creamy, making it ideal for those with sensitive skin. You don’t even have to completely rinse your face with it either, you can simply wipe it off for more moisturizing benefits.

NOW 100% Vegetable Glycerin (Review here)-This is the real deal. I bought this last year after researching products to help with my dry skin and this has been my skin savior ever since. I honestly cannot live without this product in my life. It’s very cheap, natural and doesn’t cause acne or induce flare ups in rosacea or psoriasis prone individuals. In fact, it helps those with rosacea and psoriasis because it is so gentle and so moisturizing. You barely need a dime size drop to cover your whole face. I use it on its own because it’s all the moisture I need at night but some people like to mix it in with their regular night time moisturizer for added moisturizing benefits. If I could only recommend one product to get out of this line up, hands down I would choose this.

Origins Drink Up Intensive Moisture Mask (Review here)- I use this mask whenever my skin needs a huge pick me up and is wind burnt from playing Snultimate (Playing Ultimate Frisbee in the snow) It has never let me down. I wash my face as normal and then smooth a generous amount over my whole face and let it sink in as long as I want. Sometimes I use it as an over night mask and even put Glycerin over it and other times I just use it as a mask and rinse it off before I go to bed and continue on with my normal routine. This helps calm my skin down considerably and any dry patches I may have had are gone.

NUDE ProGenius™ Treatment Oil- I do not have a review for this product either, but there is one in the works! I got a deluxe sample of this for a Sephora Beauty Insider Perk awhile back and I use it as a treat for my skin when it needs a little extra TLC. I love using it after a Chemical Peel, it’s so gentle and soothes my irritated skin wonderfully. It’s full of Omega 3, 6, 7 and 9, among many other beneficial ingredients and nutrients for the skin. It doesn’t feel greasy and is absorbed into the skin immediately. My skin is always at its softest after using this. Using this after my Origins Drink Up Mask is one of the most perfect moisturizing combinations in the world.

L’Occitane Dry Skin Hand Cream– Review in the works!This is the hand creams to end all hand creams. Made with 20% Shea Butter and with Honey, Almond and Coconut Extracts, this is moisture heaven right here. My hands are constantly tortured! Between washing numerous dishes at work, playing Snultimate and spending time at the stables with my horse, my hands are battered. A nickel sized amount covers more than enough for my whole hands and immediately soothes and moisturizes. My hands love this stuff!

Jack Black Intense Therapy Lip Balm (not pictured, review here)- If you still have yet to try this amazing lip balm, you are missing out. This is the best lip balm I have ever used, and I will never buy another brand again. It’s highly moisturizing, isn’t sticky and has many wonderful flavors that actually taste good and not like, “Eww, what is that taste!” because really, if you’re going to ingest your lipstick/lip balm while wearing it, it might as well taste good. Not only does it taste good, it also is natural and has UVA/UVB protection built in. Talk about a multi-tasker! One application of this and my lips are softer than a pillow.

Another great way to get some moisture back into your skin is to drink a ton of water! Always, always stay hydrated! I can’t stress that enough! Also, get plenty of sleep, (I know, crazy coming from a college student) and exercise. Another thing to remember is to exfoliate your skin as well. Not only does exfoliate help get rid of your dead skin, it helps the products absorb better.

I hope my tips help! If you have any questions about products, please let me know! I also would love it if you shared your favorite products for winter. Sharing is caring!

Love,

Meg

One thought on “My Winter Skin Saviors

  1. Pingback: Painted Lady

Show some love!

