Get your glow on

Hellolight1

IT Cosmetics Hello Light Illuminating Powder

What IT Cosmetics says: “Natural radiance and a youthful, vitality-filled glow are just an airbrush away! An anti-aging powerhouse for naturally pretty, lit-from-within skin, this innovative formula is all about the look of vitality, radiance and illumination without glitter or shimmer. The formula is infused with micronized pigments of light, plus skin-loving ingredients including peptides, hyaluronic acid, hydrolyzed collagen, silk and Vitamins A, C, & E and free of all of the ingredients that make skin appear older like talc. Anti-oxidants hydrate, condition, and nourish your skin while warding off free-radicals all day long! Free of talc, parabens, sodium lauryl sulfate, mineral oil, petrolatum, synthetic fragrance, and phthalates., the Hello Light Anti-Aging Radiance Illuminating Powder absorbs oil and shine while blurring away the look of pores, and fine lines without settling into wrinkles! The perfect finishing step for the look of lift and illumination, the convenient compact makes it easy for your to brighten, hydrate, and awaken your skin all day long! Hypoallergenic and noncomedogenic, this translucent powder is completely colorless, making it perfect for all skintones.”

I’ve been using Youngblood’s Champagne Life creme blush as my highlighter for the past two years, along with various eye shadows if I’m in a rush. However, I soon realized that eye shadow can have too much glitter or accentuate my pores much more than I want-hence it being eyeshadow and not face highlighter- so I went on the hunt for the perfect powder highlighter.  I still love my creme from Youngblood but I wanted a powder version. I’ve always loved IT Cosmetics and I use their Bye Bye Under Eye religiously, and as soon as I saw this gorgeous illuminator and swatched it, I knew it was just what I was looking for. 

Hellolight2

I’m not sure why IT mentioned in the description that this powder was “translucent,” because I’m going to have to disagree with them. This is truly an illuminator and definitely adds color and very, very fine shimmer to your face, just like a good highlighter should. The shimmer is by no means chunky, nor is it glittery. It really just glows and glides on effortlessly when applied. It does kick up a bit of dust when I apply it with my duo fiber brush from MAC, but that doesn’t bother me. It usually just means I’m being too heavy handed. The pigment is a lovely, warm champagne, and a little goes a long way so use a light hand. 

Hellolight10

Left: heavily swatched Right: blended

Here is a quick tutorial on how I highlight my face in a rush. It’s very quick, simple and barely takes a minute. What you ultimately want to achieve is that lit from within glowand not use so much that it looks like you need to blot your face. I’m using my MAC duo fiber 187 brush here to lightly dust the highlighter on the high points of my face; nose, cheeks, chin and cupids bow. I like to try to imagine an upside down triangle for reference. 

Hellolight3

First I begin by highlighting down the bridge of my nose. Doing this will give the illusion that your nose is lifted, especially if you decide to contour as well. 

Hellolight4

Then I highlight my cheekbones, paying special attention to make sure most of the glow is vertical to the arch of my eyebrow to catch the most light. Don’t highlight too close to your nose, your eyes or down onto the plushest part of your cheeks. You’re highlighting, keep it on the higher parts of your cheekbones. If you have to, feel your cheekbone out. 

Hellolight5

After my cheekbones, I like to highlight my chin very, very lightly. Use soft strokes when highlighting your chin, otherwise you will look like a grease-ball. 

Hellolight6

Last but not least, I always apply a light amount of highlighter on my cupids bow. Doing so will give the illusion of fuller lips and really complete your glow. 

Hellolight7

Hellolight9

Highlighting is so, so important. I cannot stress that enough, especially if you suffer from dull skin. It breathes light into your face and truly wakes up your face no other product can. I love my new highlighter and it makes it so simple to achieve this effortless glow in seconds. 

Hellolight8

IT Cosmetics Hello Light Powder Illuminator is my new best friend for fighting dull skin and putting my best face forward. This is a must have and is my new holy grail powder highlighter. 

Where to buy: Nakedology in Boise Town Square and online at IT Cosmetics for $24

Love,

Meg

Show some love!

