Summer skin favorites with Alba

albasunscreen

Alba Very Emollient Facial Sunscreen SPF 30

What Alba says: “This very emollient and botanically moisturizing sunscreen provide broad spectrum UVA/UVB protection as defined by the FDA. Made with preferred sunscreen ingredients, this light facial lotion is hypo-allergenic, very water resistant (80 minutes), paraben free and won’t clog pores. Powerful antioxidant rich Green Tea, Grape Seed and Vitamin E nourish skin while Aloe Vera and Chamomile moisturize and smooth. Hypo-allergenic. Biodegradable and gluten free formula.”

Going through esthetics school has made me realize even more how important sun protection truly is and what a difference it makes when you use it. I used to be quite bad about applying it during the day and was always convinced it was going to clog my pores and cause even more breakouts on my face. My fears were for nothing though, there are truly some great sunscreens on the market nowadays that cater towards acneic skin like mine and this is one of them. albasunscreen2My skin tends to lean more dehydrated on a day to day basis (probably from my coffee addiction from working at Starbucks!) This provides great hydration without being too much for my skin. I still would not wear it under makeup, it’s much too thick for that but for a day running errands, being outside or in the water, this is perfect. I’ve been wearing it religiously these past two weeks because I’m doing a series of chemical peels and cannot wear any face makeup due to my skin peeling. My skin adores it and it keeps my new skin from being damaged by the suns rays and keeps it hydrated when I feel like I cannot get enough moisture.

I also adore that it contains no phthalates or parabens, and that it doesn’t test on animals (my vegan self is very happy indeed!)  The fact that it is also water resistant for up to 80 minutes is a huge bonus too, especially when I start floating the river and need to stay protected even going down those rapids!

summeressentials

Also, how totally cute is this hat! My amazing boyfriend bought it for me at Charming Charlie’s after my first chemical peel here at Aveda. I adore it, and it keeps the sun off my face perfectly. Not to mention it goes perfectly with my diva-liscious sunglasses that I can’t live without.

With these three triple threats protecting me against the harsh rays of the sun, I’ve got nothing to worry about.

Where to buy: online at Alba or at Natural Grocers if you’re in Boise

Love,

Meg

 

Show some love!

